NFSPS Contest Results

Congratulations to all the League members who won, placed, or judged in the National Federation of State Poetry Societies’ fifty 2011 contests. Congratulations especially to John Rezmerski who won a first prize, a third prize and five honorable mentions; to Claire van Breemen Downes who won a second prize, a third prize and two honorable mentions; and to Susan Stevens Chambers who won a first prize and three honorable mentions.

Other League members who won, placed, or were also cited (often in more than one category) were: Meredith R. Cook, Charmaine Donovan, Jeremy M. Downes, Shirley Ensrud, Mary Willette Hughes, Robert La Fleur, Mary Rudbeck Stanko, Doris Stengel, Sr. Rafael Tilton, and Lucille Morgan Wilson. Six LOMP members judged contests.

Congratulations! We are proud of all of you, as well as the winners in the NSFPS’ additional contests: to Susan Stevens Chambers for winning First Place in the 2011 Convention Contest, and to Ruth Schmidt-Beumler and Doris Stengel for winning prizes in the Invocation Poetry Contest.

LOMP Conference Thanks!

Thank you to the chapters who hosted LOMP conferences: the Heartland Poets for the Fall Poetry Romp in Little Falls where Mary Willette Hughes gave the keynote address and Claire and Alan Downes conducted the seminar; and to the Southeastern Minnesota Poets for hosting the League of Minnesota Poets Spring Poetry Meeting at Assisi Heights in Rochester, where speaker Todd Boss gave the keynote address and critiqued poems.

New Book Release!

New books: Congratulations to Dennis Hershbach on the publication of his poetry chapter book, South First and Lakefront, published in January 2011 by Lost Hills Books in Duluth.